DesignShare Logo

Search

Our Current Featured Education Group:
Directory Case Studies Articles Awards Program Language of School Design
Membership E-Newsletter Events About Contact Home
Educational Specifications Forum
 
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Originated June 2002, new material added 03/20/2003
Randall Fielding, AIA, Editor

Commentators and Links to Postings
Bruce Jilk | Prakash Nair | Henry Sanoff | Jeff Phillips | Jack Flynn | Michael Sharp
Robert Matschulat | Nair Response to Matschulat | Jack Flynn | John Gray
Gloria Mikolajczyk | Robert Matschulat reply | Kathy McWilliams | Michael Sharp 2

This forum sprang forth from a round of e-mail messages between Bruce Jilk, Randy fielding and Prakash Nair. The conversation continues, featuring commentaries by Henry Sanoff, Jeff Phillips and Jack Flynn. Contact information for all participants is included at the end. We intend for this to be a living document, and invite your comments, so let’s hear from you!

What’s an Ed Spec?
An Ed Spec (also referred to as a program) is a detailed narrative, developed to guide the design process. An Ed Spec typically includes a summary of the educational organization’s goals or mission, a list of rooms and sizes as well as descriptions of site and spatial characteristics. Ed Specs are often developed by educational facility planning specialists. Many educational planners are also educators; some are architects.

There is a wide range in the quality, process, length, and cost of developing an Ed Spec. Some Ed Specs are brief outlines - a wish list for the client. Other Ed Specs involve diverse groups of stakeholders, take a year or more to develop, and cost over $100,000.

NCEF Ed. Spec. Resources

Educational Environment Program

Please direct your comments to the editor, or to the commentators and copy the editor.

Randall Fielding, Editor, fielding@designshare.com

Bruce Jilk, bajilk@attbi.com

Prakash Nair, Prakash@designshare.com

Henry Sanoff, henry_sanoff@ncsu.edu

Jeff Phillips, jeff.phillips@eddept.wa.edu.au

Jack Flynn, jflynn6222@aol.com

Michael Sharp, michael.sharp@baldasso-cortese.com.au

Robert Matschulat, AIA, CSI, CCS, CEFPI rmatschu@jeffco.k12.co.us

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

April 7th, 2006
 

DesignShare publications are submitted by designers, university professors, architects, planning consultants, educators, technologists, futurists, and ecologists. Publications include podcasts, detailed case studies, conference proceedings, interviews, original research, editorials, thesis projects, and practical design guidelines.

WANT TO PUBLISH?

User Tools

Membership | Reprint Policies | About | Contact | Home
© DesignShare.com 1998-2014. All rights reserved.